EN | NL | FR
Current Wings Quest 130
Rainbow Connection

the BIG 'Help me with my computer!' topic

Post new topic Reply to topic

Author  Message 
Tomas
The lucid dreamer
cookie lover
Posts: 1472
Joined: 16 May 2002
Last Visit: 05 Jan 2011
Location: Norway
 
PostPosted: Sun 29 Jan, 2006  Reply with quote

The Nameless One wrote:
Well, unless it's an Athlon XP. That thing needs liquid nitrogen instead of a fan.

The AMD64 runs quite cool actually.. My amd64 3500 runs fine with the stock heatsink which is rather silent. I believe the P4 has not surpassed AMD when it comes to both heat and power consumption. The old amd k7 was indeed very hot, but the new ones are way better when it comes to heat.


back to top
Tomas
The lucid dreamer
cookie lover
Posts: 1472
Joined: 16 May 2002
Last Visit: 05 Jan 2011
Location: Norway
 
PostPosted: Sun 29 Jan, 2006  Reply with quote

StEvE21 wrote:
Thanks for the replies guys.
I guess AMD is better, but someone pointed this out to me on another forum "unless you get heavily into using your system for multiple things at one time - or for demanding applications like AutoCAD and new games - you probably won't notice much difference between the chips."

I was going through a Best Buy flyer and saw this- Intel Pentium 4 processor 516 with 17" flat screen CRT monitor. 512mb memory, 200GB hard drive, and dual-layer DVD burner for $599 (canadian).

Well, if you arent into games and want a budget pc, then go for the amd sempron. The budget processors still give more bang for the buck than a P4. The amd is usually easier to upgrade as well, if you decide to upgrade some time in the future. With P4, you would have to throw the mobo in the trash, since the future cpus will probably have a new socket configuration.

So i honestly see the reason in paying more for a intel which is inferiour.

If you want a cheap and good pc, then you might also want to check computer only stores which build/assemble the pc themself. These will usually outperfom any oem computer that you buy at your standard electronic shop and is cheaper as well.


back to top
Draconic
Novice dreamer
Novice dreamer
Posts: 13
Joined: 21 Jan 2006
Last Visit: 12 Jul 2008
 
PostPosted: Wed 08 Feb, 2006  Reply with quote

Being a Mac user myself, I dont know so much about the AMD vs. Intel performance (although I've really liked the AMD machines that I've used).

I will say that ever since I switched from my 32-bit G4 tower to my 64-bit Powermac G5, the performance gains have been tremendous. 64-bit is the way to go.


back to top
The Nameless One
Sleeping Man
cookie lover
31
Posts: 1283
Joined: 13 Jun 2005
Last Visit: 15 Apr 2015
LD count: 2 crappy ones
Location: irrelevant
 
Dialer Help
PostPosted: Tue 21 Feb, 2006  Reply with quote

My computer is infected with a dialer that can't connect and is blocked. The thing is, it keeps re-installing itself everytime I delete it. Not that it's causing me any damage, it's just annoying. How do I find thesource of that program's respawning, what can I do about it? I've already scanned the system lots of times for viruses and dialers.

back to top
Qu
Founder
Site Admin
Qu has successfully completed an LD4all Quest!
46
Chat Mods
Scribes
Posts: 11044
Joined: 05 May 2002
Last Visit: 18 Oct 2019
LD count: lost uhm lots
Location: behind you
 
PostPosted: Tue 21 Feb, 2006  Reply with quote

hmm try msconfig? and see if it's in the startup somewhere.

if you have win XP type msconfig in the run prompt.

then you can go to http://www.answersthatwork.com to see what else is in your startup that you don't want there and delete it.


back to top
Fadem
Dream Deity
Dream Deity
29
Posts: 575
Joined: 30 Jun 2005
Last Visit: 30 May 2018
LD count: Not Enough
Location: Netherlands, The
 
PostPosted: Tue 21 Feb, 2006  Reply with quote

Spy Sweeper, Ad-Aware, Spybot S&D, CWShredder => good programs for removing such things smile Tried them yet?

back to top
The Nameless One
Sleeping Man
cookie lover
31
Posts: 1283
Joined: 13 Jun 2005
Last Visit: 15 Apr 2015
LD count: 2 crappy ones
Location: irrelevant
 
PostPosted: Tue 21 Feb, 2006  Reply with quote

I've tried Ad-Aware, but it doesn't detect anything, and Spybot, which finds and deletes the problems, but the problem is that the thing is detected again every time I restart Windows. It creates many files in the Temp folder, which run as processes. I blocked them all and erased them with Eraser that overwrites each file something like 35 times, but as I restarted Windows, there were more files in Temp. I need to find the process that creates those files.

back to top
sirius)(black
digital dreamer
Dream Deity
27
Posts: 741
Joined: 11 Sep 2005
Last Visit: 06 May 2018
LD count: a few
Location: bladel
 
PostPosted: Tue 21 Feb, 2006  Reply with quote

use REGcleaner, you can set up your install list, programs, software, backups etc with it

back to top
The Nameless One
Sleeping Man
cookie lover
31
Posts: 1283
Joined: 13 Jun 2005
Last Visit: 15 Apr 2015
LD count: 2 crappy ones
Location: irrelevant
 
PostPosted: Tue 21 Feb, 2006  Reply with quote

As it turned out to be, it was the famous CoolWWWSearch. I've looked for info and downloaded a program (which has already been suggested by Fadem) to delete what other programs couldn't delete, ie certain parts of said thing. There are still files in Temp that I can't delete and keep respawning, but I guess they're normal. Also because Spybot doesn't detect anything anymore. Thanks guys. It's been a real challenge, I managed to manually mutilate the spyware here and there removing a lot of files, but it didn't go away until I used CWShredder. All its base are belong to us.

back to top
Fadem
Dream Deity
Dream Deity
29
Posts: 575
Joined: 30 Jun 2005
Last Visit: 30 May 2018
LD count: Not Enough
Location: Netherlands, The
 
PostPosted: Wed 22 Feb, 2006  Reply with quote

Glad I could help turn3

back to top
The HB
LD4all addict
LD4all addict
28
Posts: 2771
Joined: 23 Oct 2005
Last Visit: 31 Aug 2019
LD count: 11
Location: Earth, welcome!
 
PostPosted: Wed 22 Feb, 2006  Reply with quote

That happens with some of the music in my Windows Media Player playlists, they won't work on the player, but whenever i delete them they come back!


Link to My DJ: ld4all.com
back to top
Cid Silverwing
Paladin of The Light
cookie lover
28
Posts: 1274
Joined: 06 May 2005
Last Visit: 23 Dec 2016
Location: Norway
 
PostPosted: Wed 22 Feb, 2006  Reply with quote

Don't forget that most viruses often screw with your registry, so search in an AntiVirus database for details about the virus you get, and find the registry keys that cause this. (Most likely it was a respawner key, or a connection that re-downloaded and re-installed itself on command.)

back to top
The Nameless One
Sleeping Man
cookie lover
31
Posts: 1283
Joined: 13 Jun 2005
Last Visit: 15 Apr 2015
LD count: 2 crappy ones
Location: irrelevant
 
PostPosted: Wed 22 Feb, 2006  Reply with quote

Exacly. They were all edited registry keys.

back to top
Cid Silverwing
Paladin of The Light
cookie lover
28
Posts: 1274
Joined: 06 May 2005
Last Visit: 23 Dec 2016
Location: Norway
 
PostPosted: Thu 23 Feb, 2006  Reply with quote

I knew it! Your registry WAS edited!

Glad I could help out with my wisdom. ^^


back to top
The Nameless One
Sleeping Man
cookie lover
31
Posts: 1283
Joined: 13 Jun 2005
Last Visit: 15 Apr 2015
LD count: 2 crappy ones
Location: irrelevant
 
PostPosted: Thu 23 Feb, 2006  Reply with quote

It wasn't only CWWWS, it's something from "Universa Applications", it keeps respawning even if I have deleted its registry key. HELP!!!



Last edited by The Nameless One on Thu 23 Feb, 2006; edited 1 time in total
back to top
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

print  

All times are GMT + 2 Hours
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB
LD4all ~ spreading the art and knowledge of lucid dreaming online since 1996 ~