Writing A Book In A Lucid Dream.

I’m a novelist, and I am just starting out on a new book, but I’m facing massive writers block. I’m going to plan out and write the book in the dream state where my conscious mind will be subdued and my creative subconscious can work unhindered. I was just wondering if this was possible, and how I could conceivably transfer my work from the dream to waking life, any suggestions?

Robert Louis Stevenson would ask his subconscious for story ideas and solutions (though he refered to this source as his dream “pixies”). Quite often he would wake up recalling dreams that provided at least some useful images, and sometimes virtually complete story lines.

You probably (like RLS) don’t need to go lucid to take advantage of your dream “pixies”.

In fact, in this circumstance mightn’t it even work better just to elicit a few good dreams, and let your subconscious mind work freely, unhampered by any restaints that may be interfereing with your conscious work?

My mistake – RLS apparently actually refered to them as “Brownies”. I’m not really sure how (or even if) “brownies” differ from “pixies”

Is he the guy that wrote Dr Jekyll and MR hyde… because a program was on about that the other day. He said the story came from a terrible nightmare from his brownies …pretty intresting i think…

Oh yes, I think it can definitely work. I’ve had a few dreams where, although I wasn’t writing a novel, I was reading one. These books didn’t exist in real life, and were very good stories, too! Actually, I’m currently in the middle of writing a story I hope to get published someday which is based on some of the ideas I’ve read in dream books! Although, I must say, usually things I read in dreams are very difficult to remember after the fact. :content: