EN | NL | FR
Current Wings Quest 129
Pause Time

Doubting Reality

Author  Message 
Isanator

Doubting Reality
PostPosted: Thu 17 Feb, 2011  Reply with quote

I am brand new to lucid dreaming, I have tried a couple times but was never dedicated but I am now. Yesterday was my first night attemtping (didn't work).

Anyways, I was wondering any of the long time lucid dreamers here every doubt whats real life and whats now. Besides RC what if your in a dream thats so intense it feels like real life. This is the thing I worry about kinda like the guys wife in inception (minor spoilers) how she killed herself because she didnt know what was reality. Does anyone ever doubt reality ever?

Thanks

JayHaze
Are You Experienced?
Somniologist
LD count: 21

PostPosted: Thu 17 Feb, 2011  Reply with quote

Yes. My dreams are like WL. I mean, but you don't see live stuffed animals or people made of clouds IRL. RC's and obvious stuff like the ones stated previously are the giveaways to consciousness and unconsciousness.

Dazino
Present every moment
Astral Explorer
LD count: Often

PostPosted: Fri 18 Feb, 2011  Reply with quote

There are obvious differences in WL and LD. Inception messed up the fact that dreams arnt stable enough to be as "real" and constant as WL when your lucid.

If you find yourself able to control WL in every way, then perhaps I WOULD start questioning reality. ^^

Hemming
Not quite here...
Somniologist
LD count: Countless

It's very obvious when you're in a dream as opposed to being awake. While lucid dreams do look and feel like real life you can tell that they're dreams because you don't have anywhere near as much control over real life as you do in dreams. Also real life seems to be a lot slower paced to me than when I'm in a dream (most of the time, i have had consistant, long dreams before (longest went for approximately three hours of dream-time).

So tl;dr you can tell that you're in a dream very easily and it's impossible to confuse reality for dreaming