Doctor Strange

Hi I am new to this and I watched a cool movie called Doctor Strange, then I looked into astral projection on a site called astral-institute.com where they have a free comic about a girl who can leave her body, is lucid dreaming the same thing are astral projection?

First of all, let me be the first to say :welcome: to LD4all!!!

I hope you enjoy your time here!

(I was wondering how long it would be before the DR. Strange movie would bring people here, when I saw it with some friends I had to explain the whole AP / LD thing to them. (Great movie by the way))

OK, so time for some answers to the Question: “Is lucid dreaming the same thing are astral projection?”

Short answer: no

Long answer:
I have already written a lengthy (by my standards) explanation of the difference.
It was part of a different thread, so to save you the trouble of combing through it I have copied the segment and put it in the magic spoiler box thing floating under this.

[spoiler]

"Ok, to help me try to explain this, I will simply share my understanding of what a LD is and what an OBE is. (Just because I’m bored and feel like writing something)
I must also point out that what follows is simply what I understand and what I have experienced and is in no way concrete or definite.

LD : Lucid Dream.
A LD is a dream a person has in which they are aware that they are dreaming. This awareness allows the dreamer to consciously interact with the dream world. Because a LD is still a dream, the dreamer is confined to their own mind. And unless the dreamer has a special connection with another person or being (or they have some other special ability), they cannot communicate or interact beyond the extend of their own mind. Therefore, anything a dreamer does in a LD has no effect on real life*.