an observation on sleeping conditions

Hello all !

I would just like to talk about some observations I made during my trip abroad, during the last 10 days, and maybe one could shed light on what looks like a mystery to me.
First of all , let me give you a background, so that you can make more sense of my writings.I am a novice lucid dreamer. I have been interested in dreams and OOBES for about 1-2 years, I started practicing about a year ago, but not too intensely - more like every now and then. On for two months, off for one… I haven’t had any mind-boggling results till now - just 7-8 lucid dreams (longest one lasted about 15 seconds) and one OBE experience that lasted 3-4 secs. My dream recall fluctuates all the time. Some days I could remember 3 dreams per night (I would wake up in the middle of the night and write it down) , and other days I couldn’t remember a single thing.
That was the case for the last month, with few exceptions. I couldn’t remember almost anything, and I had about 1-2 lucid dreams that lasted only for 3-4 seconds.I used to sleep for about 7-8 hours every night, mainly because I just could not sleep any more, even if I wanted to.

11-12 days ago I travelled to Austria, where my cousin studies . (I live in Greece) From the first night I knew something had changed. These 8 nights I slept in his flat, were the best nights of my life.
Nothing I did during these 8 days would I do normally in Athens. I changed my dietary habits, my time schedule, everything. What is really weird though, is that this was not stable during these days.
For example. during the first 2 days I drank beer. Loads of beer for my standards. About 1- 1.5 lts (I don’t drink beer normally!!!) every time. Then I reduced it to 0.5 lt and then to nothing…
The same with food. At first I ate very heavily at night. Sausages or pizza, just before I went to bed . Then gradually, I stopped, or I ate very early.