nyquil

well it be ok to take nyquil to help u sleep better?

nyquil? :eh:

Ditto claudia.

NyQuil
Whenever I hear “NyQuil”, I immediately think of Dennis Leary and this comedy skit. :grin:
Basically NyQuil is a cold/flu medicine, but it knocks you the heck out.

NyQuil definintly knocks you out… and usually keeps you out a good 1-3 hours after your “normal sleeping time”. Taking NyQuil every night could potentially be harmful due to some of the chemicals in it, although I’m not familiar with the specifics. Also, if you take it too often, you body can build up an immunity to it (and all other drugs of that type) and it will never work on you again, so the the next time you have a cold might not be very pleasent. I would imagine that taking it maybe once or twice a week to help you sleep wouldn’t be harmful, but I wouldn’t keep that habit up for too long either. You should probably only go four weeks MAX on this type of pattern, and then take a four to six week break.

I’m no doctor, but this is what I know from general information I’ve recieved throughout my life.
Interesting idea for a new method…

Nyquill contains DXM (which can be used recreationally but is pretty bad, especially if you do it on a regular basis) So you could take a normal dose to get to sleep but it’s not a good idea to make it a habit. There’s other threads on DXM you can search for or check out erowid…suposedly it’s supposed to be good for LDs although I don’t know much from experience.

I remember one time i was sick so i took some nyquil and that night i had a pretty low level LD, its probably ok to take no more than once a month

I remember one time i was sick so i took some nyquil and that night i had a pretty low level LD, its probably ok to take no more than once a month

I wouldn’t take it for any other reason than the one its intended for. There could be a risk of addiction here, plus, there are a lot of cases where drugs like this can cause serious damage to your health.