Self-inflicted pain....

I’ve never had a real lucid dream before, I usually just realize I’m dreaming and then wake up without getting lucid, so I have little to no experience in the “lucid dream world”.

But anyway, I was wondering what happens in a lucid dream if you intentionally harm yourself. Suppose you were to stab your arm with an extremely sharp dream knife… would you feel an incredible pain? Would you feel whatever degree of pain it is that your mind thinks the knife should inflict?

What if you were to commit suicide in the lucid dream?

I don’t know how much I would play around with hurting myself in a lucid dream, but the thought of this intrigues me. :wink:

if you would have taken the time to look at my journal… you would have read the post where I told my friend to beat me up and I felt no pain at all. I wanted to though. Oh but there is this one dream where I sprayed 409 into my face… that burned… but I was not lucid until the end of it. I guess if you concentrate, you can change the amount of pain you receive.

In my LDs, pain is always converted into a lesser sensation of contact. For example, getting shot feels like someone poking you reasonably hard with their finger.

I’m curious as to why I never seem to experience any actual pain in dreams. Even when it convincingly seems like a serious wound was inflicted, there’s always the same discomfort that never exceeds slight irritation. After all, objects ultimately feel real in a high-level LD, and aren’t all tactile sensations (regardless of intensity) perceived on the same scale? I mean, it’s just the one sense in affect.

Oh well, DCs act as if they’re experiencing a realistic level of pain. :devil:

…What?

Leave me alone.

ROFL! :happy:

Hey now, you say that as if I’ve disrespected your work…

Sorry?