Recalling Dreams

I’m completely new to LD and all and have been working on remembering my dreams. For the past two nights I remembered 3 dreams each…well pieces of them. It seems all I can remember are just fragements. How would I increase my dream recall? I already keep a dream journal and I also use the MILD method, repeating to myself that I will remember my dreams before I go to sleep.

I also have another question, how do you know when your dreams begin and end? Since dreams can be so abstract wouldn’t it be difficult to tell because in one dream I remember dreaming of a war and then the next thing I remember is that I’m in my cousins house. I know the ones I remember are too short to be full dreams but I sort of wondered if that really was the whole dream.

Hi SuperDude and welcome to the forum!! :mrgreen_hat: :beer:
Enjoy your stay :happy:

There are many threads about dream recall (you can use the “search” button on this forum). Here’s a link to a recent thread with lots of tips in it: https://community.ld4all.com/t/dream-recall/8312

You can fully experience the beginning of a dream through WILD. Normally (at least in my case) it begins with pixels of hypnagogic imagery (images, impressions you see after you fall asleep) which keep growing and morphing until the whole environment has changed from pitch back to a vivid dream landscape. This is where the dream begins. If you’re not lucid, it’s hard to remember the exact beginning of a dream when you wake up.