Staying asleep after realizing you're dreaming?

I’m pretty new to trying to get myself to have LD’s. I have always been very interested in dreams, and I have had some very, very bizarre ones, and I remember a lot of my dreams. Last night was the first time I tried to make myself have a lucid dream. I did the counting method (one. I’m dreaming. Two. I’m dreaming.). Well I had this dream where I was driving my moms car, and I was about to get pulled over and all of a sudden the car was a lawn mower and I was coasting down the hill on the mower (haha). Yeah, I know this should have made me realize I was dreaming but it didnt. Anyway, I hid behind this big wooden fence and the cop was looking around for a bit, then finally we both saw each other, and at that moment I knew I was in a dream, and I snapped awake. I’ve had a couple other dreams where this has happened, but I always snap awake after realizing - also before I have time to spin around or anything. Anybody have any tips on how to not wake up? I am very interested in Lucid Dreaming. I think I only had one dream where I knew it was a dream and haven’t waken up, but it was when I was like 5 or 6. There was a huge dog chasing me and some friends, and all of a sudden I knew it was a dream so I came out of hiding and just yelled “come and get me!” Anyway sorry for the long post, if anyone can help out it would be great. If not I’ll just keep trying. :tongue: Thanks guys, peace.

Common problem, I’ve done that three times. when you realize your dreaming, take it as waking life for a second. Then once your dream stabilizes, let your excitment out in phases =P.