Lucid and Near Lucid?

What is the difference between being lucid and near-lucid (stupid question i know but i’m new at this).
And also how can i maintain the lucidity of my dreams, whenever i try to take control of my dreams (as in change my surroundings or make someone do something) i seem to slip back into a non-lucid dream.
(I’ve only ever had 4 lucid dreams, 2 i just realised i was dreaming for a few seconds and the other two i realised i was dreaming and tried to take over the dream but fell back into a non lucid dream when i tried to, i stay lucid as long as i accept the given surroundings)

near lucid would be when you have a hunch something isn’t right… but don’t quite catch on that your dreaming… and lucid would be realizing that you are.

the only way you can get better at keeping yourself lucid would be implementation of techniques such as rubbing your hands, commands, etc. and practice.

grab onto something in your dream, and think about your dream until you have complete control of it

Near-lucid or prelucid is still non-lucid, and the transition to actual lucidity requires a pretty high level of self-criticism. That’s why prelucidity more often occurs than lucidity. In order to reach this critical level, you really need to practice a lot and learn how to keep a critical state of mind during the day.

There are lots of ways to stabilize and prolong a LD. When you’re just starting on LDing, it’s pretty normal that most LDs don’t last very long. The mind has troubles to adapt itself to the new state of consciousness, thus early awakening occurs very often in those early stages. In time this will certainly improve.