Dream time

Anybody here who actually pays attention to how much time passes in the dream, according to the dream world? I never really cared about this much but one time found it interesting so I kept checking a clock in my dream. Shortly before I woke up, it showed that I had been in the dream more than two hours. Wish I knew how long it really was.

Hi,

well I dont think that a clock in your dreams would be accurate at all.
I think most dreams last for only several seconds. Sometimes you can have a dream that seems to go for really long but it could be only going for 1-2 minutes.

Some say that the reason dreams feel to go for long somtimes when really they lasted just a matter of seconds is because in dreams there is no such thing as time.

interesting topic though,
-stranger

Hmm. Maybe if you used WILD to enter a dream and then wake yourself up during the dream and check a [waking life] clock, you could get a bit of an idea of how long you were dreaming. I’m no WILD expert; I’m not sure if it would work.

Otherwise I agree with stranger, and the comment that time doesn’t exist in dreams.

I think another topic is around here somewhere about ‘lengthening’ your dreams in a way: getting the dreams to seem to last a few days, even a few months, while only sleeping for a normal amount of time. You might want to look at that if this subject interests you, sno_isulli.

The research which concluded that dreams last only a few seconds is old and, worse, wrong.

Dreams last for 10 to 45 minutes and get longer through the night. Boring parts are ‘skipped’ - you can get on a bus and, a few seconds of real time later, get off. In fact, you might never get on the bus at all, just go out of your house and into you destination :tongue:

Hi r3m0t,

How do you know that dreams can last for that long?

And if its true that a dream can seem to go on for days/months then how is that possible.